top of page

Finding My Strength, One Breath at a Time

Juinn

Have you ever felt called to a new way of moving, but hesitated because you thought you weren't strong or flexible enough? Meet Juinn, one of our yoga enthusiast who traded in occasional classes for a dedicated Ashtanga Mysore practice, proving that this path is perfect for beginners too.


In her own words, Juinn shares her inspiring journey of self-discovery, newfound strength, and a surprising sense of calm – all within her first month of almost daily early morning Mysore practice. Join her as she sheds light on the challenges and triumphs of starting Ashtanga Mysore, and how it transformed not just her body, but her mind and spirit as well.

 

Metta Studio: What was your yoga experience level before starting Ashtanga Mysore?

Juinn: Very minimal. I went for the odd class every now and then ever since I was a teenager but never took it seriously enough to do it regularly or even join a studio.


Metta Studio: What motivated you to try Ashtanga Mysore specifically?

Juinn: I tried an Ashtanga Led class for the first time in August 2023 and found it so interesting that I kept going for more Led classes until my first Mysore class 5 months later. I was very drawn to the fact that I could move at my own pace and take my time to enter the trickier asanas without feeling like I needed to keep up with the other students in class. Ashtanga Mysore also fits in very nicely into how I like to learn and measure progress - repetition, micro improvements, focus.


Metta Studio: How did you find the Mysore method's self-practice format compared to other yoga styles you might have experienced?

Juinn: I love it and prefer it to anything else that I’ve tried before. I like how it trains me to be more self-aware and independent yet be able to get the help from a teacher whenever I need.


Metta Studio: What were the biggest challenges you faced in those first few weeks?

Juinn: My muscles were (and still are) so tired! Especially in the shoulder and upper back region where I’m typically the weakest. I constantly need to make sure that I get enough rest and eat well so that I can recover faster and practice more frequently in a week. Another big thing was also learning not to be intimidated by other practitioners in the class who are stronger, more experienced and more flexible than me. But that fear didn’t last long because I eventually realised that we’re all on our individual journeys.


Metta Studio: Did you experience any physical milestones or improvements in strength or flexibility during this time?

Juinn: I try my best to pay attention to all the different movements throughout the whole practice regardless of how complex or seemingly simple they looked. From holding my body the right way during downward dog to being able to hold Sirsasana for all 15 counts of breath. Every improvement was a small win for me and I could feel myself getting better across different aspects after every practice session.

Juinn practicing her headstand (Sirsasana)

Metta Studio: How did you manage any frustrations or plateaus you might have encountered?

Juinn: I breathe and pay attention to my self-talk. I make sure that I’m not too hard on myself by having crazy high expectations and I keep reminding myself to be patient and that

results don’t come overnight.


Metta Studio: Did you notice any changes in your mental well-being or stress levels after a month of consistent practice?

Juinn: Yes 100%! A big part of my stress comes from work which has affected my health in the past. Now, I find myself being able to stay present and not let things outside of my control affect my stress levels and my emotions are a lot more manageable and calm now.


Metta Studio: What surprised you the most about Ashtanga Mysore in your first month?

Juinn: How “peaceful” the rest of my day feels after a morning practice. I think it is in part because I had a good workout so early in the morning. But also largely because of the meditative nature of Ashtanga Mysore that helps remind me that when life becomes even just a little bit challenging, I can always return to my breath as my anchor.


Metta Studio: Considering the challenges, would you say the practice has lived up to your initial expectations?

Juinn: I honestly didn’t have much expectations going into it apart from the fact that I wanted to see how much deeper my exploration of yoga goes. I find myself discovering something new everyday, whether it’s about my physical, mental or spiritual self or my surroundings. And in a way, it exceeds whatever I had expected to get out of yoga. I also didn’t expect Ashtanga to have an impact on how I view myself. I used to be very hard on myself, constantly pushing to do better and not being very kind to myself when I can’t do something right. But ever since I started practising Ashtanga more frequently, the negative voice has quitened down a lot and I feel more at peace with my own accomplishments and shortcomings.


Metta Studio: Looking ahead, what are your goals for your Ashtanga practice in the coming months?

Juinn: From a physical standpoint, I’d like to be able to learn the full primary series as well as learn to stop holding so much tension in my body, especially my back and shoulders. From a mental and emotional standpoint, I still want to work on my patience with myself and work on kinder self-talk.



152 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page