top of page

How Ashtanga Mysore Shook My Yoga World

Updated: 4 days ago

For years, I explored trending yoga styles, started 2 decades ago with the music-led Les Mills BODYBALANCE™ classes to the sweat-dripping intensity of hot yoga to the gravity-defying aerial yoga. But somewhere along the way, something felt ... missing.


Little did I know, the missing piece wasn't a new style, but a whole new approach. Enter Ashtanga Mysore. This traditional practice threw everything I thought I knew about yoga into question.

Don't get me wrong, those classes were fun. But the focus was often on the external - the perfect pose, the trendy transitions. It wasn't until I stumbled into an Ashtanga Mysore class that my perception of yoga, and myself, was shaken to its core.



Ashtanga Mysore is different. It's self-paced, silent, and deeply meditative. At first, it was a shock. It wasn't the intensity – though as someone who adored gentler flows, it was a challenge! It's just me, the mat, and a relentless self-confrontation.


The quiet forced me to confront all the "hidden corners" I'd been ignoring - the self-doubt, limiting thoughts, and buried anxieties. It was like shining a light into the dusty corners of my mind – uncomfortable, yes, but necessary.


The practice became a mirror reflecting everything I didn't want to deal with. It was tempting to push it away, get frustrated, or simply give up. But in this quiet space, I discovered a different path: acceptance.


The more I accepted my shortcomings, the lighter I felt. The surrender I thought I knew turned out to be shallow compared to the complete surrender Ashtanga demanded. It's a constant battle - some days I flow with grace, others the autopilot kicks in and I fall back into old patterns.


This experience has taught me a valuable lesson: growth doesn't always look fun or feel easy. It can be downright challenging, even uncomfortable. Change is hard, but for me, Ashtanga was the catalyst I needed. It's a journey worth taking, one that proves change doesn't always arrive with fanfare – sometimes, the most profound transformations are the quietest ones.


Ashtanga has shown me the true essence of yoga - it's far more than just a physical practice.

This is my story, a reminder that sometimes, the most profound changes come from stepping outside our comfort zone and embracing the unknown. It's a challenging, rewarding journey, and the destination? A deeper understanding of myself, both on and off the mat.


So, if you find yourself yearning for something more in your yoga practice, maybe, just maybe, Ashtanga Mysore awaits.


88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page