top of page

Here’s My Story…

Practicing yoga for over 20 years has been a journey of growth, transformation, and self-discovery. Yoga has always been my anchor, providing stability and peace amidst life's turbulence. However, it was during the Covid-19 pandemic that I found myself in need of a deeper connection, a stronger anchor to hold on to my fears and uncertainties. That’s when I turned to Ashtanga yoga, a style I had avoided for years due to its perceived vigorous nature.



As the world went into lockdown, the routine of life was shattered, and anxiety crept in. Ashtanga yoga, with its structured and disciplined approach, seemed like the perfect remedy to combat the chaos. Despite my reservations, I decided to embrace this challenging practice. After the lockdown lifted, my search for an experienced Ashtanga teacher led me to the traditional Mysore style—a self-led practice where each practitioner moves through the sequence at their own pace under the guidance of a teacher.


Mysore style was unlike anything I had experienced before. It taught me independence, compassion and mindfulness in ways I hadn’t imagined. This approach fosters a non-comparative, non-judgmental environment. The emphasis is on personal growth rather than how you measure up to others. This approach resonated deeply with me, as it cultivated an internal focus that was both liberating and grounding.


However, the discipline required to show up daily, especially early in the morning, was a significant challenge. It often felt like a war zone in my mind, battling the comfort of staying in bed versus the commitment to my practice. Yet, it was this very struggle that became my greatest teacher. It taught me resilience. Ashtanga pushed me to confront my limitations, fears, and the things I had been avoiding.


No other yoga style had brought me to this point of facing and overcoming inner obstacles.

Through consistent practice, Ashtanga instilled in me self-acceptance, humility, and non-attachment. The rigorous practice became a mirror reflecting my inner world, teaching me to be true to myself and to embrace each moment with mindfulness and compassion.


Unlike other yoga styles I practiced over the years, Ashtanga brought a profound change. The structured yet fluid nature of Mysore practice offered a unique blend of discipline and freedom, pushing me to grow both on and off the mat. The transformation I experienced was not just physical but deeply spiritual and emotional.


To anyone considering Ashtanga Mysore approach, I urge you to give it a genuine chance. Don't limit yourself to just one or two classes; commit to a full month of practice. True change requires consistency, persistence, and perseverance—qualities essential for thriving and growing in life. Through Ashtanga yoga, you may find not just physical benefits but also profound personal growth and a deeper understanding of yourself.


In the end, the path of Ashtanga yoga is not just about mastering poses but about embracing a journey of self-discovery and inner strength. It is a practice that has profoundly enriched my life, and I believe it has the potential to do the same for anyone willing to commit to it.



159 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Juinn Tan
Juinn Tan
Jun 02

Thank you for sharing your story! ❤️🙏

Like
bottom of page