top of page

I Never Thought I Could Do This

Meet Nana Zarna, a dedicated yoga practitioner who embarked on an Ashtanga Mysore journey despite years of feeling like a beginner. Her commitment to personal growth is unwavering, as evidenced by her consistent practice even during the challenging month of Ramadan. Join her as she shares her inspiring journey into the world of Ashtanga Mysore.

Nana with her son

Metta Studio: What was your yoga experience level before starting Ashtanga Mysore?

Nana: I always think that I’m at a beginner level even though I have been practicing yoga for several years now because I always have to re-adjust some postures like bending my knees at downward-dog or bending my knees at forward-fold just to be able to touch the tip of my toes.


Metta Studio: What motivated you to try Ashtanga Mysore specifically?

Nana: The first thing that motivated me to try Ashtanga Mysore is that I can practice at my own pace (I’m a slow-mo 😅) and also because the initial Saturday morning classes fits nicely with my schedule (in between sending my kid to his swimming and tuition classes).


Metta Studio: How did you find the Mysore method's self-practice format compared to other yoga styles you might have experienced?

Nana: At first, I find it difficult to memorize the postures and the sequences but the teacher is always there to guide me and gradually help me through the flow. It’s like going for a private 1-to-1 session!


Metta Studio: What were the biggest challenges you faced in those first few weeks?

Nana: I used to look at other practitioners and feeling frustrated when they can do the postures easily and here I am using a block to touch the mat or bending my knees to touch my toes. I also tend to rush my postures so I can catch up with the rest.


Metta Studio: Did you experience any physical milestones or improvements in strength or flexibility during this time?

Nana: With the teacher’s help and adjustment, I was able to loose the props and managed to straighten my legs at downward-dog and some other postures, I can grab my fingers at Marichyasana C (still working on my D 😅), and keep the energy level high throughout the class (I used to feel like fainting after the first few standing postures).


Nana in Marichyasana C pose

Metta Studio: How did you manage any frustrations or plateaus you might have encountered?

Nana: I once walked out of a class with tears and mixed emotions, not knowing why and what triggered it. Talking to the teacher helped ease whatever feelings I had that day. The breathing technique I learned in Ashtanga class also helps me manage my emotions better.


Metta Studio: Did you notice any changes in your mental well-being or stress levels after a month of consistent practice?

Nana: Yes, I have. I am more focused on my own practice and on my own level and pace. I am more calm and less stressful at work and at home. I feel like I gained some extra energy during the day and I also sleep better (maybe too exhausted from the morning Ashtanga class 😅).


Metta Studio: What surprised you the most about Ashtanga Mysore in your first month?

Nana: What surprised me the most is that I’m able to do certain postures that I thought I will never be able to do, ever!


Metta Studio: Considering the challenges, would you say the practice has lived up to your initial expectations?

Nana: Absolutely! And then some more! I started joining Ashtanga with very little expectation and with the intention to just maintain my regular exercise and maximize my monthly class package.


Metta Studio: Looking ahead, what are your goals for your Ashtanga practice in the coming months?

Nana: There are still many postures I am struggling with but I believe with regular practice and with the personalized assistance and adjustment I am getting in Ashtanga Mysore classes, I will be able to master those postures. And if I don’t, it would still be ok as this is my personal journey. ♥️



155 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page